Book Promotions – What Works & What Doesn’t (Part 3: Facebook Paid Campaigns)

Part 3! Sorry about the delay between posts, but I’ve been down with a flu.

Anyway, I shall dive right in.

Here’s what I did:

I post an update regarding the free KDP promotion I’m having, then boosted the post. (I do post in Facebook groups too, but I shall write about that in the next post.)

It is really easy to boost the post, Facebook has a small button on the bottom of each post to allow you to boost it. But I do have several issues with it. Each time I boosted the post, after maybe an hour or so (sometimes longer, sometimes shorter), I get an email from Facebook telling me that they had suspended my boosted post.

Why?

Because there’s too many words on the picture posted. According to Facebook rules, the words are only supposed to cover 20% of the picture. But I needed to put in information stating that it is free on which date and such, and it had to be large enough for people scrolling to see the information.

I still do it each time though. They have a pretty good analytic that will tell you how many people clicked on the post and such. 

Here’s the result:
I had a two-day promotion.

On the first day, the boosted post reached 89 people, with 1 post click and 1 other click.

On the second day, the boosted psot reached 2518, with 63 post clicks, 7 other clicks, 4 likes, and 2 shares.

Overall cost: $15
Cost per click: $0.21

BUT here’s the thing. I have 72 clicks in total, but I can’t confirm if the 72 people actually downloaded my book.

Would I use it again?
The result doesn’t seem fantastic, but I probably would. It’s not that expensive, and I get a tiny exposure with shares.

I’ll try my next campaign without the Facebook paid campaigns and update this post then.

Leave a comment