Book Promotions – What Works & What Doesn’t (Part 2: Twitter Campaigns)

So I’ve already explained where I learned how to promote my books. If you’re interested, this is the book:

Through this blog spots, I’ll talk about each of the strategy involved and tell you if it works! Wherever possible, I’ll give actual numbers and teach you how you can track your own promotion as well.

My blog posts are on the results of my KDP promotions. All of these strategies seemed to work perfectly for the author.

Anyway, for Part 2, I’m going to talk about the Twitter Campaign I purchased.


In the book I mentioned, one of the strategies is to set up a twitter campaign.

The gist is to post a twitter message every 20 minutes with hashtags or @s in order to reach twitter users.

What I like about this strategy:
It puts my book out there, right?

What I don’t like about this strategy:
I don’t think it’s right for me to bombard my followers with a book promotion tweet every 20 mins.

I still followed the advice anyway, just for my first promotion. But I have gone back, retrieved a couple of the links, and checked the statistics.

Some of my links overlap (I used the same link for Twitter and Facebook) as I didn’t know I was able to check the statistic for the links. I only made sure that I use different links for different purposes on my latest promotion.

My Own Tweets:
I posted on my Twitter account with various hashtags and @s. I didn’t do it as often every 20 mins, I think I posted one every hour.

And the total clicks: 2

Purchased Tweet Campaign:
I’m not going to state who I purchased my tweet campaign from. This isn’t a smear campaign. 

I think the person who promoted my book posted around 1 tweet per hour as well. I’ve collected several of the links and checked the statistic.

Total clicks: 10

You may say that perhaps I didn’t purchase from the right person. Well … I can assure you the website is rather popular among indie writers.

But hey, you can check out the other major players as well. (Here’s the post on how to track the links.)

Personally, I tried checking the links of several popular twitter book promoters and their results weren’t fantastic as well, ranging from 0-5 clicks per posts, with the 5 clicks being extremely rare.

Conclusion:
I won’t pay another cent for twitter campaigns again. It’s expensive (more than a third of what I spend in total), and the results weren’t worth it.

Leave a comment